Exhibition:

Bob Rutman / Hilla Steinert/  Uwe Arens

 

The Architexture of Life

 

Performance/Opening 27. September 2019, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.

Speech: Jeremiah Day

Exhibition open weekday from noon – 2 p.m. until 8. October 2019

 

Having lived a long life, I can tell a tale of everything life has in store and about the experiences, deeply engraved in every cell of my body.

 

Robert „Bob“ Rutman’s (*1931) www.rutman.decareer as an internationally well-received artist, musician and composer began in the US. His drawings, paintings and sculptures are timeless. With self-made instruments, he touches the essence of his long life. The unsaid and the unutterable is set to music. Even though Rutman insists his music is just noise, he shakes life itself with the sound he creates.

 

This is where Rutman meets the art of dancer and performance artist Hilla Steinert (*1960). Steinert explores the ground rules of life. Where do we come from? Where do we go? Life, transience and the moments in between. Steinert uses space, time, her body and materials to exemplify connections on all levels. The pieces displayed, capture her work process and are a collaboration with her photographer husband Uwe Arens.

 

Uwe Arens (*1957) www.uwearens.de is an internationally acclaimed photographer, known for his portraits of world-class musicians. In his work, he seeks sound, stillness and questions time. Making no difference between real bodies, landscapes or things, he says: An image is always in the now.

 

David Chipperfield Architects Showroom, Joachimstr. 11, 10119 Berlin

Ausstellung:

Bob Rutman / Hilla Steinert/  Uwe Arens

 

The Architexture of Life

 

Performance/Opening 27. September 2019, 6 p.m. – 9 p.m.

Speech: Jeremiah Day

Exhibition open weekday from noon – 2 p.m. until 8. October 2019

 

°Nach meinem langen Leben kann ich euch sagen, was es bereit hält. Es hat sich tief in jede Zelle meines Körpers eingegraben.°

 

Robert „Bob“ Rutman (* 1931) www.rutman.de ist ein international bekannter deutsch-amerikanischer bildender Künstler, Musiker und Komponist, der seine Karriere in den Vereinigten Staaten begann. Seine Zeichnungen, Bilder und Skulpturen sind zeitlos. Durch seine Musik auf den selbst gebauten Instrumenten, er selbst sagt von sich er macht nur Krach, berührt er die Essenz von 88 Jahren Leben. Auch das Ungesagte und Unsagbare. Damit rüttelt er am Leben selbst.

 

Darin trifft er sich mit Hilla Steinert (*1960) Tänzerin und Performancekünstlerin. Sie sagt von sich sie arbeitet an der Basis des Lebens. Woher kommen wir und wohin gehen wir? Entstehen und Vergehen. Und die Momente dazwischen. Raum, Zeit, der Einsatz ihres Körpers und Materie sind die Grundlage ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit. Die ausgestellten Bilder sind Produkte der Umsetzung ihrer Arbeitsprozesse in Fotografie, die in Zusammenarbeit mit ihrem Mann Uwe Arens entstehen.

 

Uwe Arens (*1957) www.uwearens.de ist international gefragter Fotograf, bekannt vor allem durch seine Portraits hochrangiger Musiker. Entscheidend ist für ihn der Blick. Bei allen formalen Kriterien macht er hierbei keinen Unterschied zwischen realen Körpern, Landschaften oder Gegenständen. Er sucht nach dem was klingt....wie sieht Stille aus...wann fängt zeitlos an? Und er sagt: ein Bild ist immer jetzt.

 

David Chipperfield Architects Showroom, Joachimstr. 11, 10119 Berlin